Globe WIZ Spot access for Globe Visibility/Tattoo: Misleading marketing strategy

Yesteday I applied for a Globe Tattoo postpaid plan. There are three main reasons that I’m going for the Globe wireless plan. First, Smart’s SMARTBro is not quite ok based from most of the people I know who has subscribed to their service (both prepaid and postpaid). Second, Sun cellular’s wireless broadband coverage does not seem to reach my area. Heard a lot of good stuff about Sun’s broadband service, though their coverage is really their weakness eversince they started out in the telecoms business. Should they have a wider range or stronger signal coverage, I’d definitely go for their wireless broadband. My last reason for subscribing to Globe’s Visibility/Tattoo service is that I’ve already tested it at my current place and it worked fine for me during the time that I needed to work from home.

Since I already have an existing postpaid mobile plan with them, the application for the postpaid Visibility/Tattoo kit was seamless. I only had to have a valid ID with me and needed to fill up a quite short application form. While filling out the form, I asked the sales agent some questions about the Globe Visibility/Tattoo service and she was able to answer me well enough.

From the set of questions that I’ve asked, these two had the most unbelievable answers:

Question 1:

Me: “Would you have a list of Globe WIZ Spots in the Manila or in the Philippines?”

Agent: “None”

They provide the service for the Globe WIZ spots yet they have no existing database or list of their subscribers??? Unbelievable.

Question 2:

Me: “Regarding the Unlimited connectivity via a WIZ spot (e.g. Starbucks), will Globe provide us (Globe Visibility/Tattoo Subscribers) a Globe WIZ account that we can use in case we are in areas with WIZ accounts requiring login (e.g. Starbucks)?

tattoo plans
tattoo plans

Agent: “No, only the free spots have the unlimited access”

WTF?! Everyone (even non-Globe subscribers) can connect to these free Globe WIZ spots, how the hell does that differentiate the paying subcribers from the non-paying subscribers? They should have ditched this information from their ads. This is a product promise that will definitely be a turn-off once the other networks’ services improve. I hope the high-ranking Globe officials or executives will be able to read my post and take actions on the items that makes their product less appealing to the one’s considering to subscribe to their service. This I believe is wishful thinking though and it sucks.

If Sun improves their network coverage, especially for the broadband, I’d definitely ditch Globe.

3 Responses to Globe WIZ Spot access for Globe Visibility/Tattoo: Misleading marketing strategy

  1. […] their WIZ access which really seemed misleading due to the explanation of their sales agent before (link here). Back to the story, the sales agent easily gave me an answer to my […]

  2. Tony Brown says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

Leave a comment